Monday, April 11, 2011

ILCLI International Workshop on Semantics, Pragmatics, and Rhetoric

ILCLI International Workshop on Semantics, Pragmatics, and Rhetoric
Donostia, 9-11 November 2011

The ILCLI International Workshop on Semantics, Pragmatics, and Rhetoric (SPR-11) is organized by the Institute for Logic, Cognition, Language, and Information (ILCLI) of the University of the Basque Country at Donostia (‘San Sebastián,’ in Spanish) with the aim of bringing together scholars from all over the world to explore and discuss the philosophical and scientific grounds of the most recent developments in those fields.

The workshop is specially concerned with semantics and pragmatics from the points of view of both philosophers and linguists; but it also aims to look at their relationship with an older discipline related to language use: rhetoric.

We invite contribute papers from all areas related to the meaning and use of natural language. Abstracts between 1,500-2,000 words long (including references and 5 key-words, and ready for blind review) should be sent to Kepa Korta ( by 15 April 2011. All submissions will be evaluated by at least two referees. Acceptance/ rejection will be notified by 1 July 2011. Authors of accepted abstracts will be required to register and send the definite version, following the guidelines and recommendations of the Program Committee, by July 15 2011, for its inclusion in the Book of Abstracts.

A volume with invited lectures and a selection of the papers presented at the Workshop might be published by an international publisher (details will be available in due course).

Confirmed speakers so far:

Robyn Carston (UCL)
Maite Ezcurdia (UNAM)
Istvan Kecskes (SUNY)
Ofra Magidor (Oxford)
Genoveva Martí (ICREA, Barcelona)
Jeff Pelletier (Simon Fraser)
John Perry (Stanford & Riverside)
Howard Wettstein (Riverside)

Important dates:

Submission of abstracts: 15 April 2011

Notification of acceptance/rejection: 1 July 2011

Submission of definite abstracts: 15 July 2011

Early bird registration: 1 October 2011

Program Committee: Eros Corazza (Ikerbasque, ILCLI), Maite Ezcurdia (UNAM), Istvan Kecskes (SUNY), Kepa Korta (ILCLI), Jesus M. Larrazabal (ILCLI), Diego Marconi (Turin), Genoveva Martí (ICREA, Barcelona), Mante Nieuwland (BCBL), Eleonora Orlando (Buenos Aires), Michael O'Rourke (Idaho), Jeff Pelletier (Simon Fraser), Stefano Predelli (Nottingham), Isidora Stojanovic (Jean-Nicod), Laure Vieu (Toulouse)

Organizing Committee: Rodrigo Agerri (Vicomtech), Mixel Aurnague (Toulouse), Ekain Garmendia (ILCLI), Joana Garmendia (ILCLI), Aitor Izagirre (ILCLI), Andrea Martin (BCBL), David Pérez Chico (Zaragoza), Salvador Pons (Valencia), María Ponte (ILCLI), Larraitz Zubeldia (UCL)

Chair of the Program Committee: Kepa Korta (

Chair of the Organizing Committee: María Ponte (

No comments: