Wednesday, December 10, 2008

Society for Applied Philosophy Annual Conference (CFP 2009)

Annual Conference 2009
University of Leeds, 26-28 June

The Society for Applied Philosophy (UK) was founded in 1982 with the aim of promoting philosophical study and research that has a direct bearing on areas of practical concern. It arose from an increasing awareness that many topics of public debate are capable of being illuminated by the critical, analytic approach characteristic of philosophy, and by direct consideration of questions of value. These topics come from a number of different areas of social life - law, politics, economics, science, technology, medicine and education are among the most obvious. The purpose of the SAP is foster and promote philosophical work that is intended to make a constructive contribution to problems in these areas. It does so through events, conferences, and lecture programmes.

The Annual Conference 2009 will be an open applied philosophy conference. Similar to the highly successful SAP 25th Anniversay event held in Oxford in 2005, there will once again be no specific theme and the panel will consider papers submitted for the programme from across the full range of topics in this area.

Please forward paper proposals (abstract) in .doc or .rtf file format, 300 word limit, and with (N.B.) the email subject line SAP AC2009 Abstract to:

by Friday 9 January 2009.
All applicants will be notified of a decision by early February 2009.

A prize will be awarded to the best postgraduate essay submission (awarded in advance of the conference on the basis of the full version of the paper after acceptance of the abstract). The winning student will receive free registration and accommodation at the conference as well as reimbursement for any travel expenses incurred within the United Kingdom. When you submit your abstract, please indicate in the body of your email message if you would like to be considered for this prize.


Prof Julia Annas (Arizona)
Prof Susan Mendus (York)
Prof John Cottingham (Reading)
Dr John Tasioulas (Oxford)
Dr Roger Crisp (Oxford)
Dr Elizabeth Ashford (St. Andrews)
Prof Nigel Biggar (Oxford)
Dr Rachel Cooper (Lancaster)



No comments: