Wednesday, December 10, 2008

Prize Essay in European Philosophy from Kant to the Present

University of Kentucky
Sixth Annual Prize Essay Competition in
European Philosophy from Kant to the Present

QUESTION: Is any Variety of Naturalism Superior to Others?

This topic may be addressed historically, systematically, or through
any combination of these two approaches. The winning essay will
receive a prize of $1000 and, upon recommendation of the selection
committee, be published in Inquiry. The author of the winning essay
will also be brought to the University of Kentucky in the Fall of 2009
to present it.

The winner of the first four annual Prize Essay Competitions were Sami
Pihlström (University of Helsinki), Robert Guay (Binghamton
University), Helder De Schutter (University of Leuven), and Herbert de
Vriese (University of Antwerp) for their essays “Recent
Reinterpretations of ‘The Transcendental’ Revisited” (Inquiry 47, No.
3 [2004]), “The ‘I’s Have It: Nietzsche on Subjectivity” (Inquiry 49,
No. 3 [2006]), “Nations without Nationalism” (Inquiry 50, No. 4
[2007]), and “The Myth of the Metaphysical Circle” (Inquiry 51, No.3
[2008]). The prize essay selection committee declared no winner in
the fifth competition.

Essays will be judged by a process of blind review. Submissions
should be appropriately formatted for such a process, with the
author's name and other identifying information appearing only on a
separate cover sheet. Essays should be double spaced, in English, and
no more than 8000 words in length. Past and present faculty and
students at the University of Kentucky are ineligible to compete.
Submissions should not have been previously published or submitted for

The deadline for submissions is March 1, 2009. Essays should be submitted in triplicate in typed (hard copy) form to Ms. Katie Barrett, Department of Philosophy, University of Kentucky, Lexington, KY 40506-0027 USA. No electronic submissions please.


No comments: